This is the "Home" page of the "MSPM 6170 Sustainability in Project, Portfolio, and Program Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MSPM 6170 Sustainability in Project, Portfolio, and Program Management  

Last Updated: Jan 2, 2014 URL: http://waldenu.v1.libguides.com/mspm6170 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Email Us

Phone: 1-855-764-4433 (toll free)

Regular Hours
(U.S. Eastern Time)

Mon–Thu: 8 a.m. to midnight
Fri: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat–Sun: 2 p.m. to 10 p.m.

 

MSPM Required Course Readings

The links are for required readings found in the Walden databases ONLY. For all other readings, see your course resources.

Please enter your myWalden user name and password at the prompt.

Ash, R. (2009). An examination of engineering personnel assignment policies in the multi-project, capacity constrained situation. Engineering Management Journal, 21(4), 58–70.

Bayer Corporation: Sustaining a future. (2007). Chemical Week, 169(21), 16.

Blichfeldt, B., & Eskerod, P. (2008). Project portfolio management—There’s more to it than what management enacts. International Journal of Project Management, 26(4), 357–365.

Brodnik, M., Plouse, R., & Leip, T. (2009). Why do I need all that process? I’m only a small project. Journal of the Quality Assurance Institute, 23(1), 6–8.

Bryde, D. & Leighton, D. (2009). Improving HEI productivity and performance through project management: Implications from a benchmarking case study. Educational Management Administration & Leadership, 37(5), 705–721.

Caron, F., Fumagalli, M., & Rigamonti, A. (2007). Engineering and contracting projects:  A value at risk based approach to portfolio balancing. International Journal of Project Management, 25(6), 569–578.

Chmieliauskas, A., Būda, V., Stasiukynaitė, R., & Viliūunas, V. (2007). Maturity of project oriented organizations: Lithuanian case. Management Horizons: Visions and Challenges, 51–69.

Cooper, R. (2009). Effective gating. Marketing Management, 18(2), 12–17.

Crawford, J. (2006). The project management maturity model. Information Systems Management, 23(4), 50–58.

Davis, P., & Walker, D. (2009). Building capability in construction projects: a relationship-based approach. Engineering Construction & Architectural Management, 16(5), 475–489.

Day, G. (2007). Is it real? Can we win? Is it worth doing? Managing risk and reward in an innovation portfolio. Harvard Business Review, 85(12), 110–120.

DeMacedo-Soares, T., Mayrink, E., & Cavalieri, A. (2009). Strategic fit of project management at a Brazilian state-owned firm: The case of Eletronuclear. Journal of Global Business & Technology, 5(2), 114.

Flynn, D., Pan, G., Keil, M., & Mähring, M. (2009). De-escalating IT projects: The DMM model. Communication of the ACM, 52(10), 131–134.

Hubbard, G. (2009). Measuring organizational performance: Beyond the triple bottom line. Business Strategy & the Environment, 18(3), 177–191.

Jonas, D. (2010). Empowering project portfolio managers: How management involvement impacts project portfolio management performance. International Journal of Project Management, 28(8), 818–831.

Kendrick, T. (2009). Chapter 13: Program, portfolio, and enterprise risk management. In Identifying and managing project risk: Essential tools for failure-proofing your project (pp. 301–331). New York, NY: AMACOM.

Koç, A., Morton, D., Popova, E. Hess, S., Kee, E., & Richards, D. (2009). Prioritizing project selection. The Engineering Economist, 54(4), 267–297.

Meskendahl, S. (2010). The influence of business strategy on project portfolio management and its success—A conceptual framework. International Journal of Project Management, 28(8), 807817.

Mitchell, R., Hunt, F., & Probert, D. (2010). Valuing and comparing small portfolios. Research Technology Management, 53(2), 43–54.

Müller, R., Martinsuo, M., & Blomquist, T. (2008). Project portfolio control and portfolio management performance in different contexts. Project Management Journal, 39(3), 28–42.

Schieg, M. (2009). The model of corporate social responsibility in project management. Business: Theory & Practice, 10(4), 315–321.

Shehu, Z., & Akintoye, A. (2009). Construction programme management theory and practice: Contextual and pragmatic approach. International Journal of Project Management, 27(7), 703–716.

Skulmoski, G. J., & Hartman, F. T. (2010). Information systems project manager soft competencies: A project-phase investigation. Project Management Journal, 41(1), 61-80. doi:10.1002/pmj.20146

Yazici, H. (2009). The role of project management maturity and organizational culture in perceived performance. Project Management Journal, 40(3), 14–33.

Management Recommended Databases

The Walden Librarians suggest the following databases as a starting place for your course research.

  • ABI/INFORM Complete
    ABI/INFORM Complete offers over 2,000 full text resources including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, business news, reports, and working papers. Topics include all aspects of international business, such as business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape.
  • Business Source Complete
    Business Source Complete offers thousands of full-text academic journals in business, management and finance, case studies, company profiles, reports, conference papers, financial data and SWOT analyses.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Explore the LexisNexis Business tools to find company dossiers, financial data, SEC filings, patent and IP information, regional & international business news, legal cases and more.

Management Suggested Resources

Top Journals:

Other Suggested Resources:

  • Management and Business Databases
    See all of the Walden Library databases relevant to your subject area.
  • Searching Strategies
    Learn general searching tips to help you get started in the library, the research databases and online.
  • Business Research Webinar
    Find out about the different types of business information sources, as well as which business and management databases are available at Walden.
  • eBooks and Dissertations
    Locate thousands of e-books in the library databases and get access to full-text dissertations from Walden and hundreds of other schools.
 

Tell us what you think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


A Member of the Laureate International Universities Network

  

 

Library Hours (U.S. Eastern Time)

Mon–Thu: 8 a.m. to midnight
Fri: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat–Sun: 2 p.m. to 10 p.m.

 

Library Phone Number
1-855-764-4433 (toll free)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip